monthly overview · otome gaming

[Monthly Overview] December Releases 2016


PC

Omega Vampire – 2nd December – karin chatnoir

*R18 PC Game

Steam Prison – 16th December – HuneX

PS Vita

Getsuei no Kusari ~ Kyouran Moratorium ~ – 21st December- TAKUYO

Ken ga Kimi – Momoyo Tsuzuri – 22nd December – rejet 

DYNAMIC CHORD feat. Liar-S V Edition – 22nd December – honeybee black

Harukanaru Toki no Naka De 6 Gentou Rondo – 22nd December – koei tecmo / neoromance

Re: Birthday Song ~Koi wo Utau Shinigami~ another record – 22nd December – honeybee black

break

Sorry for the late post and almost 0 posts last month, been a little busy with an exam and some games. Now that I’ve got time, I’m ready to post a bunch of stuff (hopefully lol).

A lot of PSP -> PS Vita ports this month too, hell this year is prolly half dedicated to ports to the Vita rather than creating new titles. Either way, its good to see games being ported seeing that the visuals can be amp up when on the Vita rather than being held back in the PSP.

Anyway, lets overview some of these games. Omega Vampire is exactly what the title suggests, set in ‘omegaverse’ (prolly mpreg is real) and revolves around vampires etc. How creative, jk. Omegaverse seems to be getting groundswell in Japan when it comes to BL, tho I’d rather not go into too much depth to explain what omegaverse is (even I am still confused about it). Ya got your Alpha (攻), Beta (攻・受) and Omega (受), omega can be impregnated by the alpha even if theyre both dudes, beta can go either way in some fictions and the protag of this game is omega? (but he fucks the other omega dude whos a werewolf and maybe the other beta guy so I’m not sure). The only characters that look interesting are the two white haired dudes: the omega werewolf dude and the beta human scientist dude. The other guys look either too angsty or too abusive. No thanks.

Getsuei no Kusari ~Kyouran Moratorium~ is a port to the vita of a PSP fandisk for the first Getsuei no Kusari (which released to the vita about the same time last year). Other ports to the vita are: DYNAMIC CHORD Liar-S V edition (possibly has both the original and fandisk/append disk included in one game, also Cero D for some raisin) and Re: Birthday Song (port to vita from the PC but knowing honeybee’s track record with porting games to vita, I’m kinda gonna avoid it for now). I did hear that Re: Birthday Song wasn’t good in terms of story or something, which makes me feel bad for Satoi, most of the time it feels like their artwork isn’t paired together with a worthy story.

Harukanaru Toki no Naka De 6 Gentou Rondo is a sequel to Harukanaru toki no naka de 6 (then again aren’t most of the harukanaru toki no naka de games are sequels to the original?). I guess this one is a direct sequel to 6, keeping the same storyline/characters, then again I’m not quite sure if its a sequel or fandisk. Kinda hard to get into this series when theres so many other games, you don’t really know where to start 😆

Talking about fandisks, Ken ga Kimi is releasing its fandisk this month directly to the vita, unlike the first game that was released to PC first. Considering the first game was incredibly popular that it got a fandisk, it must be a great game. Tho because of that I couldn’t get my hands on a copy (yet), I’ll try to look for it somewhere else. Not sure if the fandisk will live up to the expectations of the fans, but here’s hoping its full of sweet moments.

Finally HuneX’s upcoming new game Steam Prison will be releasing this month too to the PC. My first and last HuneX game was Possession Magenta and that didn’t leave a good impression on me but the heroine looks strong and independent and its steampunk so that’s interesting. Then again it all relies on the execution of the story, the art may be good but everything rests on the story.

As for posts this month, hopefully I’ll finish reviewing the Yuugen Romantica CDs, maybe do a breakdown post on an app game and hopefully get out some posts. I’ll do an end of year wrap up on New Year’s Eve like last year. Hopefully I won’t be too busy to draw up a Christmas doodle.

Thank you for reading as always!

Edit: Whoops, I accidentally thought it was 2017 already and wrote it into the title lol

3 thoughts on “[Monthly Overview] December Releases 2016

  1. Lol I saw an ad for Omega Vampire in a magazine that came with one of my orders but I didn’t see it until after my dad saw it and went, “So, uh, you’re into gay shit?” and the CG was nearly R18 rofl.
    I’m honestly curious about Steam Prison and Haruka looks great. Token Ranbu seems much too difficult to understand right now so gonna have to wait on that..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg. Tbh Omega Vampire aint my cup of tea (because of the omegaverse and the mpregs that messes me up).
      I remember hearing about Steam Prison needing an online authentication before you can play it on your PC, theres a way to by pass it but I’m not sure. I’m just waiting for them to port it to vita, if they’re willing to.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep. It was so awkward, esp since my family is super traditional and stuff rofl….
        Haha yea, SP might think it’ll help with pirating and stuff, but there’s a chance that customers who purchase it can’t play it, if I’m understanding the situation correctly.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

