browser · game diary · otome gaming

[Game Diary] 刀剣乱舞 Touken Ranbu | January《#04》

 


Day 282 | Saniwa Lvl 75 | Average sword lvl 50’s

Busy with Unibrow-kun event, koban-less and hungry

Search for Foxy Grandpa still on hold, but I have a feeling he’ll come home soon… ;^)break

I missed out on writing a Touken Ranbu diary entry last month, mainly because I didn’t play it at all last month but I regret it now because I missed out on the sword training campaign… it would’ve helped out on this event…

Anyway, spoilers: I didn’t get the swords in this event either! Surprise, surprise. Especially when I tried so hard to get Unibrow-kun… maybe if I didn’t start on January 1st and started on the day the event started I could’ve had a chance getting him. I’m gonna miss that fanged sword that I never had the chance to get, same goes for his big bro where my chances of getting him was -1,000 on a scale of 1 to 10.

I’m getting ahead of myself here. This month was an intensive month of playing this event:

Regiment Battle

We get the chance to get two new swords in a new “beat enemy waves” event where you are rewarded Otoshidama for each enemy wave you defeat, where your main goal is to collect these Otoshidama until 50,000 to get that kid with the unibrow. I can’t remember his name, but neither does his big bro who is a drop for the final wave of the Expert Map. Each sortie on these event maps costs you one pass, you have three passes that refills twice a day or when you pay 1,000 koban.

I came into this event ill equipped. I had weak swords and I had no kobans because I spent it all on backgrounds. Remind me to never purchase backgrounds ever again. I couldn’t get through the Expert map of this event so I didn’t have the chance to get Higekiri but I focused to get Unibrow-kun through grinding on the Hard map and collecting as many koban as I could.

However my efforts bore no fruits. I kept messing up, missing out on doing three sorties before they recovered once and I still regret, experimenting with teams on the Expert map when I should’ve been focusing on the hard map, not even starting the event on time… all of these factors lead to my failure. I only got to around 40,000 at the end of the event…

Screen shot 2016-01-17 at 10.33.45 PM

Maybe if this was for Monoyoshi’s event I could’ve gotten the sword already. I still kick myself for this event, but at least it was easier than Monoyoshi’s event and I actually like the fight wave by wave event gimmick instead of gambling your balls with the merciless RGN-sama.

I also like how they incorporate your second, third and fourth sword teams and switching them out during waves. Same goes for having all swords getting equal amounts of EXP so everyone levels up equally. Really good stuff here. Its also interesting to see that the leader  of each team doesn’t get injured/attacked so you can get your weakest sword in on the action and get EXP without getting them seriously injured.

Tbh, this event really levelled up my swords. Now my strongest swords are about lvl 60+ instead of back when they were just lvl 50. My tantous are lvl 50 now and all thats left is levelling up my uchigatanas. Tbh my uchigatans are now my weakest swords now lol.

If you haven’t noticed, I’m really sad that I missed out on the chance of getting these new swords because these swords are quite special. Apparently their rarity changes each time they reach toku status and it could really help me out in future events to have them. They even change their appearance depending on their different toku state which is pretty neat too. But oh well…

Hizamaru and his two toku appearances. Higekiri has three toku appearances. Pictures from the Touken Ranbu wikia.

At least at the end of the event I got these sweet backgrounds from the event for free. Haha… ha…

I regret so much.

More on this event can be found on the wikia

break

New Years with Touken Ranbu

This’ll porlly be the first of many (or maybe a few) New Years with Touken Ranbu. One New Years Day you’re greeted by your main leader sword each time you log in. For three days we’re given serial codes for two background and a special pack with bentou and koban.

For the first 7 days of the new year we’re given a bonus of Omikuji/fortune telling once every day we log in . You can pick at random either, little luck, medium luck and big luck. You’ll be rewarded with ofuda and a request token depending on which luck you pick.

Smithing Campaign

Screen shot 2016-01-04 at 7.52.14 PM.png

If I had known they were gonna pull this out I would’ve saved up the ofuda I got from the New Years thing…

For about 9 days, you get the chance to forge either Akashi, Nagasone, Urashima or Nihongou, swords that cannot be smithed at all. Of course, using an ofuda is said to increase your chances of getting these swords.

I started with 34 request tokens when I attempted to smith Nihongou and at the end when I reached to zero I only got two Otegine and one Tonbokiri and a whole lot of tantous.

I’m out of luck and out of hope tbh.

Touken Ranbu’s 1 Year Anniversary

Screen shot 2016-01-14 at 10.10.04 AM

14th January marks the anniversary of Touken Ranbu’s servers going online and the beginning of Sword Boy Hell. For the whole day, each time you log in you’ll be greeted by your main leader with their unique Anniversary greeting.

I tried switching out my leader so many times to my fav sword bois to hear what they have to say. I’m sure the wikia has the lines recorded and uploaded on their profile pages. Here are my sword bae crew, excluding Nagasone because I accidentally forgot bout him (rly sorry):

(Sadly, Kogitsunemaru isn’t there….)

In addition to special voice clips, we’re also rewarded another background. Backgrounds coming out of the wazoo.

Screen shot 2016-01-14 at 10.18.47 AM

Each player has different anniversaries depending on their sign up date. In celebration of a player’s anniversary, the sword bois will have special voice clips counting down the days or something similar. The wikia does a better explanation of it.

As for me, it’ll be a while until my one year anniversary with Touken Ranbu, maybe in two months. Been playing it for almost a year now and all I have to show for it is missing swords and swords with an average lvl of 50’s lol. Saniwa of the year.


 

Mini Updates

Apparently they increased the max level of the Saniwa to about lvl 300 and Saniwa’s who have been gaining experience past lvl99 will have all their accumulated EXP added to their experience. I’m still a babby Saniwa so it doesn’t really affect me until the near future.

I still kind of wished that a Saniwa’s level would affect gameplay like amount of swords & armory you can hold or being a really experienced Saniwa will grant you a better chance to smith rarer or something along those lines instead of just awarding us koban for levelling up. Tho I’m still not sure about whats the importance of Saniwa’s level in this game, after all these months… maybe someone can tell me/correct me if I’m under the wrong impression that the Saniwa level doesn’t affect the gameplay.

Maybe they’ll increase the max level for swords next time or would that be too OP? I don’t have any lvl99 swords so I don’t know lol.

Screen shot 2016-01-18 at 10.06.56 PM

Theres a new mission available where you have to write in a message (a greeting or anything you want to write) to get a reward. I already wrote mine months back about wanting to meet Kogitsunemaru but they had to reset everyone’s messages just for this mission to work. Award is as followed:

Screen shot 2016-01-18 at 10.06.44 PM

Interestingly, on the Anniversary of Touken Ranbu, Orange Rouge tweeted an anniversary pic with all of their released Touken Ranbu nendoroids surrounding an anniversary cake… along with a special guest:

If you zoom in and enhance that shit, you’ll see a teaser for either Nendoroid Doutanuki or at least a small statue of Doutanuki (maybe):

Screen shot 2016-01-14 at 9.17.21 PM

Well, time to get out my wallet.


 

So far its been quiet on Touken Ranbu’s twitter account on whether there will be a new event or new sword available soon. Hopefully next time I can get the new sword and make my swords more stronger.

For now I’ll try to grind for more resources like koban and request tokens. I have enough help tokens so its all good. I’m sure Hakata will be happy about me saving the koban even tho I’ll just splurge it all on an event if it gives me the opportunity lol.

I’ll see you next time and thanks for reading _(:3 」∠ )_

Screen shot 2016-01-22 at 3.27.23 PM
recommended nico video of the month

break

Missing:

Kogitsunemaru-1
Kogitsunemaru
